A year in Penn sports

With the calendar now hitting June, I thought it would be an appropriate time to wrap up the year in Penn sports. From triumphs to tragedy, the 2009-10 school year was packed with many significant moments. In chronological order, here are 10 of the most memorable:

The defense never rests: Overcoming a strong Harvard team and a torrential downpour in Boston, the Quakers football team first clinched a share of the Ivy League title with a 17-7 win over the Crimson on Nov. 14. Then, they captured their first outright crown since 2003 with a 34-0 trouncing of Cornell the following week at Franklin Field. The championship marked the seventh in head coach Al Bagnoli’s tenure, with this 2009 team going down in history as boasting one of the most dominant defenses ever to grace Franklin Field.

Going to a battle against Army: On Nov. 14, the Penn volleyball team clinched its eighth Ivy League championship – and its first since 2003 – with a 3-1 win over Dartmouth. That was nice and all … but not as nice as when the Quakers made history three weeks later, beating Army for the program’s first-ever NCAA tournament win. Ivy League Player of the Year Elizabeth Semmens and the league’s rookie of the year, Lauren Martin, led the Quakers, who bowed out of the NCAAs to national power Penn State in the second round.

No more Cloudy days: Less than a year after legendary fencing coach Dave Micahnik retired, another longtime member of the Penn coaching fraternity called it a career: Val Cloud. For 30 years, Cloud was a staple on the field hockey sideline – the first 15 years as an assistant and the last 15 as the head coach – and met much success. Her replacement, Colleen Quinn Fink, a former Haverford College head coach and St. Joe’s player, was hired in April.

The upset of the year: In just about any other season, beating Cornell in a men’s basketball game at the Palestra would be cause for little more than a yawn over your morning cup of coffee. But when on Feb. 12 the floundering Quakers trounced a then-nationally ranked Big Red team that would go on to win its third straight Ivy title and advance to the Sweet 16, some called it the upset of the year in college basketball. ESPN even devoted about 10 minutes to the game and the students who stuck around through three brutal seasons rushed the Palestra court. It also probably helped lead to the next item on the list…

Penn goes all in on Allen: Only months after being hired as a Penn assistant coach, former Penn hoops star Jerome Allen C’95 was thrust into head coaching duties when Glen Miller was fired during winter break. Aside from the big win over Cornell (see above), Allen didn’t immediately produce drastically different results in terms of wins and losses. But when it came time to name a permanent head coach, Allen was the clear choice because of the energy he brought to the program and the unwavering support he had from players and fans, many of whom had grown disenchanted during the Glenn Miller error. The 2010-11 season will be an important one for Allen and a team that should be able to once again compete for an Ivy title.

Giffin joins elite group of wrestlers: The Penn wrestling program boasts a storied tradition, and in March, junior Scott Giffin secured his own place in it, becoming the 24th All-America in school history with a seventh-place showing at the NCAA Championships. The 174-pouner junior is the first All-America for second-year head coach Rob Eiter and only the third in his weight class. And he’ll back next season.

Tragedy besets football program, twice: When the man known as Coach Lake lost a battle with bladder cancer in early April, it was devastating but also a cause for celebration. Lake had devoted a long and wonderful life to the Penn football program, and his wild clothes and creative ways to boost morale transformed him from an assistant coach to a campus legend. When senior co-captain Owen Thomas took his own life later that month – the second time in five years a Penn football player in the prime of his life committed suicide – there was nothing but agony. My heart continues to go out to Al Bagnoli and everyone else in the Penn football community.

When Franklin Field shook: For three centuries, Franklin Field has been home to many spine-tingling moments with fans packing every corner and crevice of the venerable stadium on 33rd Street. It’s hard to imagine many being comparable to the final day of the 2010 Penn Relays when the world’s fastest man, Usain Bolt, and his Jamaican relay team shattered a carnival record and delighted the packed house of 54,310 fans. There’s a reason why the Penn Relays is the premier track and field competition in the country.

Enjoying the firsts: It took 11 years since the program first teed off, but on April 25 the Penn women’s golf team captured its first Ivy League championship – and then got a shout out from Tony Kornheiser on Pardon the Interruption for good measure. The Quakers won the three-day league league tourney at the famed Baltusrol Golf Club in Springfield, N.J., and went on to compete in the 72-team NCAA tournament, another first for a program that only began in 2000.

For four years, perfection: When a group of women’s lacrosse freshman arrived on campus in 2006, Penn had not won an Ivy League title in the sport since 1982 and had not played in the NCAA tournament since 1984. Four years later, those same players graduated with a perfect 28-0 record in league competition, as well as a championship in the inaugural Ivy League tournament and four deep runs at the NCAAs. After losing in the national semifinals in 2007 and 2009, and the national finals in 2008, the Quakers failed to make it the final four this season, bowing out in the quarterfinals to Maryland. But the legacy left by record-setter Ali DeLuca, All-American Emma Spiro and the rest of the senior class will not be forgotten.

38 Comments

Filed under Year in Review

38 responses to “A year in Penn sports

  1. Pingback: A Year in Penn Sports: 2010-11 | Penn Gazette Sports

  2. Usually I don’t learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do so!

    Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice
    article.

  3. Finding out phlebotomy for just a few days will never prepare you for the many
    responsibilities which might be expected of all staff members functioning inside a
    healthcare center in which blood samples are taken or analyzed.
    You will have to take math and science courses in the high school for preparing phlebotomy technician training.
    If you make a decision to perform in phlebotomy,
    then holding a Phlebotomy certification will give
    you an edge and absolutely distinguish you from some others.

  4. What’s up to all, the contents existing at this web page are in fact awesome for people
    knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

  5. Hi, Neat post. There’s a problem with your site in web explorer,
    may test this? IE still is the marketplace chief and a
    large component of other people will leave out your
    wonderful writing due to this problem.

  6. Hello everybody, here every one is sharing these familiarity, therefore it’s
    fastidious to read this weblog, and I used to pay a visit this blog everyday.

  7. Very good write-up. I definitely appreciate this site. Keep writing!

  8. Link exchange is nothing else except it is just placing the other person’s webpage link
    on your page at appropriate place and other person will also do same for you.

  9. You could by no means have to fret about currently being discovered by means of cloaking your
    IP tackle to advert safety to your surfing and acquiring data through web-sites
    on the web site. The Catholic underpinnings of Montrose are strongly influenced by the teachings of Josemaria Escriva who founded the Catholic group known as Opus Dei.

    The first two sentences may be reposted with a link
    back to the original article.

  10. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.

    I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog.
    A great read. I will certainly be back.

  11. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thanks, However I
    am going through issues with your RSS. I don’t understand
    the reason why I am unable to join it. Is there anyone else getting
    the same RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

  12. Hi there, I wish for to subscribe for this website to obtain hottest updates, thus where can i do itt please help out.

  13. My programmer is trying to persuadde me to move to
    .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerous websites for about
    a year and am worried about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a waay I can import alll my wordpress content into it?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  14. Very good article! We will be linking to this
    great content on our website. Keep up the good writing.

  15. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your
    site, how can i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this
    your broadcast provided bright clear idea

  16. Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to
    help with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m
    not seeing very good gains. If you know of any please share.
    Thank you!

  17. Vɑchemnt fasϲinant : elon moi ce post intéresserait ma meuf

  18. I think this is one of the most significant info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some
    general things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is really nice :
    D. Good job, cheers

  19. Currently it sounds like Movable Type is the top blogging
    platform available right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  20. Great goods from you, man. I’ve take note your stuff prior to and you’re simply too excellent.
    I really like what you have got right here,
    really like what you are stating and the way in which by
    which you are saying it. You are making it entertaining and you still take care
    of to stay it sensible. I can not wait to read much more from you.

    That is really a tremendous site.

  21. Can I simply say what a relief to find an individual
    who truly knows what they’re discussing on the net. You definitely know
    how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    More and more people must read this and understand this side of your story.
    It’s surprising you aren’t more popular given that you most
    certainly have the gift.

  22. I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s equally
    educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is an issue that not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy I came across this in my hunt for something regarding this.

  23. My brother suggested I might like this web site.
    He was totally right. This post truly made my day.
    You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thanks!

  24. Great post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I’m impressed!

    Very useful info specifically the remaining part 🙂 I care for
    such information much. I used to be looking for this particular info for a long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

  25. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My website has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot
    of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any methods to help prevent content from being stolen? I’d certainly appreciate
    it.

  26. Although maximum site owners are familiar with these concepts, but
    they may lack the expertise to do it the correctly. As the culture of internet slang grew,
    it took on new origins from pop culture or video games and television. You can download Avast Free Antivirus
    for free from the Avast website.

  27. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to
    say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing on your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more soon!

  28. 11 am: University Gallery: Roundtable: Poetry, Publishing, & the Pioneer Valley
    .
    April 22 – Richard Michelson & Daniel Hall at Green St.
    Michelle Mc – Ewen has had poems published in The
    Caribbean Writer, Best New Poets 2007, O & S, and online at
    umbrellajournal.

  29. Kelli Echevarria

    First Britten

  30. I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this sort of space
    . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this web site.
    Reading this info So i’m glad to show that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling
    I discovered just what I needed. I such a lot no doubt will
    make certain to do not overlook this website and give it a look regularly.

  31. I’m curious to find out what blog system you have been using?

    I’m having some small security problems with my latest blog and I
    would like to find something more safeguarded. Do you have
    any solutions?

  32. The welfare of pets like dogs and cats is the primary concern of most pet owners as they treat them like their family members.
    It is very easy to get conned by them and the ultimate sufferer will
    be the pet whose disease will escalate and might even take its life.
    Problems of time shortage and gradually increase in drug costs
    are best solved by making a contact to any legitimate online pharmacy.

  33. Because there are no documents to complete,
    no writing checks, and no faxing, you do not have to go away
    from home. She wants potential buyers to save at least 20%
    for a down payment’and that’s on top of having an 8-month emergency fund saved up.

    Everyone faces financial crisis once in a lifetime and cannot tally his spending with his earnings.

  34. Thank you, I’ve just been searching for information approximately this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I’ve found out so far.
    However, what concerning the conclusion? Are you sure concerning
    the supply?

  35. Learn rapid, simple and established on the weeb enterprise methods here.

  36. Thank you for some other informative web site. Where else could I
    am getting that type of info written in such a perfect way?
    I’ve a mission that I’m simply now operating on, and I’ve been on the look out for such information.

  37. Howdy, I think your web site might be having browser compatibility problems.
    Whenever I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in Internet Explorer,
    it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to
    provide you with a quick heads up! Aside from that, wonderful site!

  38. Wow, awesome weblog structure! How lengthy have you ever been running
    a blog for? you make running a blog look easy. The whole look of your website is wonderful, as well as the content!

Leave a comment